End of an Era

So it’s been a long time since I wrote a post, over a month, which considering I wanted to keep it constantly up to date is just shameful. However, I have been extremely busy as just a few days ago I submitted the last essay for my undergraduate degree and now I’m free.

Ever since I went back to university after Easter it has been nonstop work, work, work. (Maybe I do understand some of that Rihanna song after all…) I had a presentation to do almost as soon as I returned, which was completely nerve wracking. I’m not the most confident of people, and though I’ve been in five stage productions throughout secondary school, my hands still shake like crazy every time I have to speak in a class. But I got through it! Thank god. Though I may have spoke far to fast for my non-Yorkshire classmates to understand. After that I had  16,300 words to complete in the form of four essays, and it’s relief now that they’re all done.

It feels so good to have it all over with, and it’s also terrifying to think that now I have to decide what to do with the rest of my life. My sister and friends have their lives all planned out, one has even just got a full-time job! (Congratulations you!) My plans, however, are like a flat-packed wardrobe, I have the tools and ideas of what I want to do, I have some vague instructions about how to get there but I don’t know how to put it all together. (What a weird metaphor…)

It doesn’t help that people are constantly reminding me that I need to get a job, become a real adult. I know they’re just doing it because they love me, but sometimes it feels like they have little faith in me just because I haven’t decided where I’m going right this moment. Apart from wanting to write a book, which every one knows takes a loooooong time.

My graduation looms in the distance and once that’s over I know I have no excuse. It’s both overwhelming and underwhelming to think about. My studies are over for now, yet there’s never been a time where I haven’t been in education and I don’t know how I will proceed from here.

All I want to do right now is read books and write and do whatever I want now I have the freedom to, but I know that I need to get a move on or get left behind. My vague plan includes getting whatever job I can and saving up to do a Masters degree next year. So I guess we’ll see how that goes.

For now, I’m hoping to have the chance to update my blog more regularly. Once a week? Once every two weeks? I don’t know but I know I need to keep at it.

Thanks for listening to my rant and update on my life. Hopefully the next post will be about one of my favourite books, Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. A book I believe every lover of fantasy should read.

Stephanie.

 

 

Leave a Reply

