Trying Out a Book Tag – The Goodreads Version

I’ve done a fair few reviews on this blog – sporadically – so I thought maybe it was time to change it up a little and dive into a book tag! Because these are just so much fun to do and I get to talk about so many books at once. The more books the better am I right?

I’ve seen this particular tag floating around the internet for a few weeks and they look like some fun questions, so why not start here? Obviously you need a Goodreads account for this, and obviously I do, otherwise I’d loose track of all the amazing books I have to read!

What was the last book you marked as read?

hobbit

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – been meaning to read this for ages and I finally did. I was surprised at how easy it was in comparison to The Lord of the Rings, Tolkien slipped into the style of children’s book easily. But I still don’t understand how they managed to make 3 three hour films from it.

What are you currently reading?

heartless

Heartless by Marissa Meyer. This had been on my TBR since before it was released, I love The Lunar Chronicles that is also by Meyer. She just has a way of creating new perspectives on fairy tales – this one is based on the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. I can already tell my heart will be broken by the end of this book.

What was the last book you marked as “to read”?

The Tales of King Arthur by Thomas Malory. My sister bought me a beautiful copy for my birthday and I can’t wait to read it. I love Arthurian legend and it’ll be fun to read up more on English mythology, especially a story that it still influencing stories all over the world today.

What book do you plan on reading next? 

Tough question! I never really know until I pick the book up. It’s a toss up between A Court of Wings and Ruin and Illuminae.

Do you use the star rating system?

Yes, because it helps me organise my thoughts on each novel I’ve read. Also I love showing my appreciation on novels that I adored.

Are you doing a yearly reading challenge? 

Yes and this is my first year of doing so! I only challenged myself 40 books however, because it’s hard for me to read as quickly as I used to these days because I’m always so busy. Goodreads says I’m still on track though.

Do you have a wishlist?

Is it bad if I say I didn’t even know you could do that on Goodreads? So no, I don’t, I just include the book I want to read, owned or not, on my to-read list.

What book do you plan on buying next? 

Our Dark Duet! I love V.E. Schwab so I’ve been eagerly anticipating this for a while.

Do you have any favourite quotes? 

I have quite a few! So here’s just a sample.

“The world inside myself is vaster and richer than this paltry plane, peopled with mere galaxies and gods.” – Seraphina – Rachel Hartman

“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.” – Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo

“I’m not going to die, she said, Not till I’ve seen it.
Seen what?
Her smile widened. Everything.” – A Darker Shade of Magic, V.E. Schwab

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.” – Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen 

Who are your favourite authors? 

V.E. Schwab, Marissa Meyer, Jane Austen, I probably have more but these are the ones that jump into my mind straight away.

Have you joined any groups?

Not yet, I haven’t had the time to commit to anything like that and I would like to throw my all into something like that.

How many shelves do you have on Goodreads? 

Seven… I feel like I should add more.

 

There we go! That was my first attempt at a book tag… quite fun actually, and it’s forced me to be more precise with my answers, which is probably a good thing.

If anyone want to follow me on Goodreads please feel free – link

 

Leave a Reply

