Book Series I Won’t Finish

Controversial opinions are my one favourites to read and watch on YouTube, because it just shows that not everyone loved that popular book that’s floating around, and that you aren’t as alone as you thought.
There are a few popular book series that I just haven’t had the motivation to finish and the ones in this list are the ones I may never get around to completing. And for a change I’m content with that, normally I have to finish a series but these are books that just didn’t fill me with the love and excitement books are supposed to.

The Wolves of Mercy Falls – Maggie Stiefvater 

shiver

This is probably the oldest series that I have that I know I will never complete. I read it years ago, so much so I can barely remember what happened. There were werewolves, which I was into at that time, a doomed romance and… a bookshop? All really know is I loved the first one, but the second one left me bored and unsatisfied so I just didn’t want to read the the last one. Even though I own it I never managed to convince myself to pick it up. It’s definitely a book that I thought suited more to a stand-alone novel than a trilogy.

The Young Elites – Marie Lu

TYE

I feel like this book was raved about for ages online. Its a dark novel about a teenage girl who isn’t you’re typical hero, but more of a villain. It’s filled with questionable characters and morally problematic decisions, unfortunately for me this book just didn’t hold my imagination. I couldn’t connect with the characters; their personalities, their motivations and backstories failed to pull me in. The plot was vaguely intriguing but for me characters hold more sway over whether I enjoy a book or not. You can have the most fantastic plot with millions of twists but if i can’t connect with the characters then I just don’t care. That’s what happened here.

The Winner’s Curse – Marie Rutkoski 

TWC

Here is yet another example of me picking up a book because I heard so many good things about it. And yet another example of me wondering what the rest of the world saw that I didn’t. Did we read different books? Sure this novel had an intriguing premise and an absolutely beautiful cover, but it’s another example of characters I couldn’t find a connection with. I didn’t care who succeeded in the end, I just wanted to get there. Kestrel was too one dimensional for me to care about. I also found the whole “I fell in love with a slave I bought” too problematic, though this might change as the series goes on I don’t think I’ll ever found out.

Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard 

Red Quenn

This sort of novel is always big, a new dystopian world where for some reason humans are divided – normally falls on the lines of Rich and Poor – with a tight totalitarian government. I usually eat these novels up, but either I’ve finally had my fill or Red Queen just didn’t bring anything new to the table. The powers were cool, and the twist at the end truly shocked me, I loved Maven, and Mare’s family, but not Mare herself. She was quite a well-built character, yet something about her grated on me. I don’t really know why I’m not motivated to continue, I even started the second one, it just isn’t grabbing my attention like I feel it should.

Graceling – Kristin Cashore 

Graceling

This is a book I did enjoy, honestly, but so far I just haven’t felt the urge to pick up the next one. Maybe that’s because I ordered the next one online and it came in French (I can’t speak a lick of French). However, it just wasn’t as exciting or badass as I was expecting. At least I liked the characters this time. The world was great and the powers unique, I honestly don’t know why I don’t want to read more. I haven’t completely ruled it out in the future, though for now I would rather be reading other things.

These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman &Meagan Spooner

TBS

I love Science Fiction, especially ones that are literally in the future on a spaceship or a foreign new planet. I just read Illuminae and it was everything I wanted – These Broken Stars was not. This time it was the romance that got to me, it was too rushed and flimsy. Did these people even really like each other or was it because they were the only two humans on the planet? It was overly mushy, and took focus from what could’ve been a great plot. I know it was supposed to be a romance based Sci-Fi novel, but when romance is the focus it has to be real, relatable, and organic; thid was not. I’m worried that the other books in this series will be carbon copies of this one, which is why I won’t be picking them up.

Leave a Reply

